Respected Contributor

Re: OT-Osteoporosis again...

On 6/3/2014 beautybrowsing said:

Does anyone know how much a bone density test cost. I think I have to pay out of pocket. How did you all get your insurance to pay for the test.

Your insurance should pay for a bone density. When I worked in the medical field, I never ran into a situation that a patient did not have coverage for that. You may have a co-pay though.

Respected Contributor

On 5/29/2014 AngelPuppy1 said:

I could not take these meds because of serious stomach issues. My doctor recommended Reclast for me. I did the same thing as you. I read and researched on all of these meds until I made myself sick with worry. I finally had to come to a decision and agree to take the Reclast IV. Once a year. I have had 3 now. My first one, I got very ill and felt like I had the flu for like 2-3 days. After that I was fine and did not have the severe reactions with the other 2. I will not say that I am happy that I am doing this because the thought of these meds still scare me to death. But I don't want to be breaking bones all over the place either. My re-checks have not shown any improvement I am sorry to say, but I have not seemed to have gotten any worse. When I go this time to talk to my doctor and get re-checked, I am going to see if I can lay off the stuff for awhile.

Best wishes. It's kind of a like a no-win situation. You have to make a choice and there are bad and good whether you take the meds or you don't.

Oh, forgot to mention, the Reclast is rather expensive if that is an issue. Depending upon your insurance plan. It is like $500.

At the time that I had my Recast, my injections were all covered. I did not even have to pay a co-pay. My insurance was amazing at that time. I now have something that is pretty lousy and I am sure it would not pay for these injections. Fortunately, I was able to have these injections and finish the treatment.

Contributor