Respected Contributor

Make it and they will buy it?

I am always amazed at the number of products cosmetic companies insist we need. 

I was a Clinique counter manager back in the 1980's.  We had the basic three items, cleanser bar, toner, and the famous yellow moisturizer.  Clinique also had 2 exfoliators, one for dry skin, the other for combination or oily skin.    There was no eye cream, neck cream, serum, or primer.  At the time, the company's philosophy was only the basic three items and an exfoliator were necessary.  Before I stopped working there, Clinique came out with a dense cream called Sub Skin Cream which was for dry and/or aging skin.  

Now every cosmetic company has a multitude of products that they claim we should use to enhance our skin's appearance.  I have to wonder just how many different potions and lotions are really necessary or is it just a matter of the companies coming up with new items to increase sales.

What's your opinion? 

Regular Contributor

Re: Make it and they will buy it?

@this is my nic I love this topic because it is so complex and simple, I accidentally wandered into a biochemistry class in college and I was hooked. what we know for sure is that we need to cleanse exfoliate and maybe but not necessarily moisturize. Sunscreen is important but most of them don't work.   Your turn.

Respected Contributor

@Iris in bloom 

If you're throwing the ball back to me, I relinquish my time to anyone else with an opinion on the topic!

Thanks for your response! 

Honored Contributor

I nearly ruined my face because of exfoliation.  I don't need it.  My skin is too sensitive for it.  All ANY of it does is adversely affect my face.

I am also not good with most of the anti ageing products which do nothing but irritat and redden my skin.