Respected Contributor

Re: Make it and they will buy it?

There really is just too much stuff out ther on the market now. I have been drinking that kool aid way too long now and I feel I may be ready to simplify and pare down a bit.  I'm just always trying way too hard.  I gotta take a minute to relax in this life of mine. 

Respected Contributor

@this is my nic wrote:

I am always amazed at the number of products cosmetic companies insist we need. 

I was a Clinique counter manager back in the 1980's.  We had the basic three items, cleanser bar, toner, and the famous yellow moisturizer.  Clinique also had 2 exfoliators, one for dry skin, the other for combination or oily skin.    There was no eye cream, neck cream, serum, or primer.  At the time, the company's philosophy was only the basic three items and an exfoliator were necessary.  Before I stopped working there, Clinique came out with a dense cream called Sub Skin Cream which was for dry and/or aging skin.  

Now every cosmetic company has a multitude of products that they claim we should use to enhance our skin's appearance.  I have to wonder just how many different potions and lotions are really necessary or is it just a matter of the companies coming up with new items to increase sales.

What's your opinion? 

It’s the same with hair products. When Chaz Dean came on QVC with Wen, his Cleansing Conditioner was to replace 7 things in your shower. Now he has his Cleansing Conditioner and at least 7 products to add to your regular hair routine. 😱 I think we as consumers need to look at reality and know we don’t need all these products. It’s about marketing and sales! Comes down to money. My mother and grandmother both had beauty skin and hair. Never spent hundreds of dollars on products. They enjoyed their life, no worries about hair, skin and aging!
Honored Contributor