Respected Contributor

Mac Cosmetics foundation colors. This may help.

I don't have all of the answers, but I have been using Mac for 100 years, so I know some.

Mac colors are based on the art theory that warm colors have red (so pink toned foundations are considered warm) & yellow/olive tones are considered cool, because of...who knows, but that is what they do.

Pink/Peach=NW shades

Yellow/Olive=NC shades

Very yellow=C shades=

Neutral with no strong yellow or pink tones=N

The numbers are the depth of color NW5 is very pale with a neutral leaning pink tone.

NW or NC 20 is fair to light. Pink or golden tone.

NW58 is very deep toned skin with pink/red shading.

If you go to the Mac site they give a nice description for each color of foundation-

N4-VERY FAIR BEIGE WITH NEUTRAL UNDERTONES FOR LIGHT SKIN (NEUTRAL)

Concealers are the same. So if you want to cover a spot on your face, you may want to go with an NC shade to neutralize any redness.
If you want to neutralize blue circles under your eyes, you may want an NW shade.
Or you can just match your skin tone & that is fine.

Another thing is the Back To Mac program. You collect 6 containers-foundation, mascara, blush, plastic eyeliner tubes, etc when you are done with them. Return them to a Mac counter or online & you get to choose a free lipstick!!
Respected Contributor

Re: Mac Cosmetics foundation colors. This may help.

@Dusty1   This is very helpful! 😊

Honored Contributor

@Dusty1 MAC's system is ridiculous to me. All it does is confuse customers. 

Honored Contributor

@Mindy D wrote:

It is confusing but maybe because what they've been telling us all along was incorrect.  I am giving this a try just to see if it works because nothing I ever tried in other brands was a huge disappointment.  What's one more shot.

Honored Contributor

@rms1954 wrote:

@Mindy D wrote: