Esteemed Contributor

Lash extensions. Can someone school me?

I sometimes apply false lashes (sometimes strip, sometimes a few clusters) but it's a pain.

Lash extensions seem like a good idea but the menu of options I see is pretty confusing.

If you've had this done, can you give me some 4-1-1?

Fortēs fortūna adjuvat
Respected Contributor

Re: Lash extensions. Can someone school me?

i've been wearing extension for 3 years now and it's the best thing ever! 

initially you pay out a fee $125.00 for me to have them put on.  you can get them wet and even swim, which i don't.  i think it would cause problems, i don't care what she says, but i have gotten water in my eyes.  i do wear shadow, but have stopped with the eyeliner.  felt no need for it wearing these. 

they do come in different lengths, but i wear a length that looks fairly natural.  some girls really go for it.  i go every 3 weeks for a fill.  sometimes i will lose lashes and this is usually because my own natural lashes are growing in.  sometimes i need very little done.  my fills cost me $50.  i've even gone 4 weeks at times.

they can be very expensive depending where you live, but shop around and use groupon.

let me know if you have any other questions @gardensla

i can't think of anything else right now.  i'm having my morning coffee!

Valued Contributor

Is there a brand of lash extensions that are better? I've seen several kinds

Esteemed Contributor

@ladyroxanne

Thank you! It looks like a long process to have them done the first time. The other options were a 1/2 and then there were clusters and corners. Sounds like you had the first option.

There are different kinds of materials from mink to silk to synthetic. I will be foregoing the mink, but wondering if you have an opinion on the others.

Yes, very expensive the first time. In my area about $200 for the first go and $50 for a fill.