Respected Contributor

Re: Is drug store hair color really worse than salon color?

@QueenDanceALot wrote:

@PilatesLover 

A good colorist will mix a custom color for you.  You can't do that with boxed color.  I started thinking about doing just my roots but remember how that went when I used to do that myself.  Not nearly as good as why my colorist does. 

I am using a wash out root spray right now.  Not ideal, but I've done the box color thing and it's just not as good as what my stylist can do.

JMHO.

I've mixed my own box color from the store with no issues. I just made sure I worked with formulas from the exact same line.

Respected Contributor

I've been coloring my hair for over 20 years now. I spent most of that time using drugstore color and a few years ago I made the change to professional color from a beauty supply store.

It made a BIG difference, especially in my resistant greys. A few months ago, they were out of my regular color and I went with another brand and that also made a big difference, and not in a good way. 

Ion Brilliance Color Cream is what I normally use to color my brown hair an auburn shade. Reds always fade more easily, but Ion has kept my hair redder longer. I usually mix two shades to get the shade I like best and have never had an issue. And the Ion really sticks to my grays better than any drugstore brand. The last time I colored I used Wella color and that faded more quickly and practically flew off my grays two weeks after coloring.

What I don't get at home is highlights or lowlights, so if you do that at your salon, you won't get the same look at home.

Ion is available at Sally Beauty.

Honored Contributor

I've used natural demi-perm dye on my roots.  I have dark brown hair and its short, so my colorist only does my roots because my ends get cut every 4 weeks so I don't have build up issues.