Frequent Contributor

Is buying too much make-up a sign of OCD? Do you have too much make-up?

Hi everyone. I started out wearing make-up later in life, and now I think I have made up for never really wearing it in my younger years. For you ladies who love make-up, do you have a big stash of it? Has it got out of control? I see some of the you tube video's wear people have a whole room organized full of make-up. Is that a sign of OCD, or do we just buy make-up because we want to try something, or it is on sale, a good price, and then never use it all up?

Just curious what others consider it being too much.

Thank you and God bless you all.

Valued Contributor

Re: Is buying too much make-up a sign of OCD? Do you have too much make-up?

Since I worked in retail make-up (Merle Norman) for twelve years, I got over the having to have the latest colors etc.....we were constantly changing out for the next season.

My make up is just what I need and use. Haven't changed colors in years....I know what I like and what works best for me. Smiley Happy

It is so easy to go overboard on anything.

Respected Contributor

I agree with motherinlaw. I definitely don't overbuy any beauty products including hair products, bath and body products and cosmetics. I don't have the extra money to overbuy and especially with cosmetics it is definitely better not to buy too many products since they have a short shelf life. At least I have read many articles that most beauty products should be replaced, anywhere from 4 months, (mascara) to a couple of years for eyeshadow.

http://beauty.about.com/od/makeuptrickstips/a/shelflife.htm

This is just one of the many articles that you can read about the shelf life of makeup.

Honored Contributor

If you can't stop buying, if you crave the rush of the buying process but get depressed and let down afterwards and need to repeat the cycle, if you suspect that you can't stop, then some form of compulsion might be what's going on.