Honored Contributor

Re: If you use Clairol Root Touchup - Have you noticed a change?

@LeoGrl wrote:
Has anyone who recently purchased this product notice a difference in the product? It's NOT the same product. I have been using this for several years now in between hair salon visits and loved it. I normally purchase the light brown color. Several weeks ago, I used it and noticed the color did not look the same when I was putting in on my hair. I also noticed the consistency was very runny not to mention that it had a strong hair color odor. I just thought I had purchased maybe an old or bad batch. However, I did my hair again about a week ago and had the exact same experience. My roots did not look good at all and had a red tint to it that I never experienced before. My sister also uses this product and called me up and was complaining about the exact same issues I had. I noticed that the boxes I purchased are brand new with a different model on the front. So, after doing a little online research, I found out that Coty purchased Clairol about a year ago. This may explain the change. I'm going to now use my Joan Rivers hair powder exclusively now until my next hair salon visits.

I used it the other day with disasterous results. I turned hot red roots and I am a blonde. I used it for years between hair appointments. Getting it out was near impossible and it did a lot of damage.

All I can say is BEWARE.

Honored Contributor

Companies want to save money so they start cutting corners; however, in the process lose customers.  I could never understand it.  Cat Very Happy

kindness is strength
Valued Contributor