Esteemed Contributor

Re: I finally did it -- not before I stressed for months -- QUIT my "new" hairdresser

@homedecor1   That's why I cut and color my own hair! 
 I've had enough of moody, preoccupied stylists. one answered the phone all the time then couldn't remember where she left off cutting. 
  Another gave me a permanent when the one I made an appointment with didn't show up. Then she left me processing with a timer that rang while she went on a motorcycle ride! 
  The last one I went to over processed and my hair was burned. 
   My friend who was a hairdresser cut it and said I don't need perms. She showed me how to cut it and I've been doing it for 20 years!

It's stress free and I save a lot of 💰 💵 

Honored Contributor

Re: I finally did it -- not before I stressed for months -- QUIT my "new" hairdresser

OH lordy--do I know what OP went thru---had a hairdresser for 15+ years that I went to, that KNEW my hair better than me--never got a bad cut and ALWAYS did a great coloring. but she got carpel tunnel and then had surgery and then never returned.  So it took me 2/3 years and 6 hairdressers to find my new girl---can't tell you how many wretched cuts I got and paying $50 a pop made me sick!!!  Now my hairdresser is fabulous--has been in the biz for 35 years, owns her salon and been at the same place for all that time- don't color my hair anymore but from the way her hair looks, she is probably excellent at that too!! 

Contributor

I have gone to the same hairdresser for 22 years and every time I go in lately, I feel I am rushed thru.  I get a foil highlight, cut, shampoo and dry which has Gone up to $180, which I feel is outrageous.  The hairdresser is always on the phone or takes too many appointments.  At 68 I am tired of spending money on my hair and ready to go gray, and only go in for a cut.  This lady owns the shop, and I have no qualms about saving money.  Maybe she should consider a customers point of view and take more time for this price.