Valued Contributor

Help with new TSV Chi Styling iron

I have never used a styling iron before ----only a curling iron. I have been trying to work with the Chi TSV and I obviously need some product to help. I have short, fine hair. The iron does not seem to clamp tightly enough for me to get that curl roll like the demos. I use a styling product when I blow dry but feel like I need another product to spray on my dry hair before using the Chi.

Anyone else with this problem? I see that Chi makes several products. I'm not really looking for a hair spray, but something to spray on to add some body to my fine hair so that the styling iron works better.

TIA

Super Contributor

Re: Help with new TSV Chi Styling iron

My hair is not fine its actually quite thick and I had the same problem. Plus mine would not lock, it was obviously defective no matter how long I waited after I set the temp. It would not lock. When I tried curling my hair it wouldn't clamp down enough. I returned mine the same day I got it. I own the travel size chi and travel size blow dryer and Love it. I can't believe I like the travel size better because it doesn't have temp settings and its smaller. My hair is long about the middle of my back. But still prefer the smaller one easier to handle and makes nice tight curls.
Esteemed Contributor

[ Edited ]

@QPrincess@shiloh 81.

That Chi TSV iron sounded so amazing, I have a great Chi iron and wanted the newest technology but when after seeing how high the 3 settings were on the new iron I had to pass, my hair would fry and be on the floor.  My Chi goes to the 170 up to 450 with multiple choices for heat settings.

Respected Contributor

I have this Chi and find that once I clamp down on the section of hair, I rotate the iron a quarter turn and pull straight up or out depending upon the side of my head I'm on.  I have a long pixie.  I use a bit of thermal type hair spray on each section for hold since I've got such fine hair.

Valued Contributor