Super Contributor

Has anyone here given up wearing nail polish?

Today is one of the only days I can remember going nail polish-free. I have short natural nails that I keep polished in a pale/nude pink shade. I've had this habit as long as I can remember.

I intended to give myself a manicure last night, but it got too late. So, this morning I stripped off the polish and came to work without any on. I tucked a nail buffer in my purse that gives a shine to nails and gave them a few buffs once I arrived. I also keep a small bottle of OPI Avoplex nail oil in my desk drawer and used that on my dry cuticles.

My nails actually look pretty good! The shine is subtle and the nail oil sunk in quickly. My nails have been so dry and have peeled on the tips with the cold weather, no matter how much I baby them.

I'm contemplating going polish-free for awhile to see how I like it. I've never done it before! Have you?

Super Contributor

Re: Has anyone here given up wearing nail polish?

I don't wear colored polish on my nails. I have short natural nails too and I like them this way. I usually wear a clear polish over a coat of Nailtiques. The Nailtiques keeps my nails from splitting and peeling. I actually have to cut my nails when I use the Nailtiques. If I stop using it, my nails split and break.

So I usually will do my own manicure at home and lightly buff my nails, then apply a coat of the Nailtiques, then a clear topcoat or (sometimes) a light pink or nude shade and then a clear top coat over that. But sometimes I just go without anything for a few days and then go back to my regular Nailtiques routine.

For a while I was getting gel manicures at the salon but got concerned about the UV damage to my hands and stopped doing that. I do not want those dark spots all over my hands.

I find that I do just as nice of a job doing my own nails. I buy OPI and Essie products and use them for my mani /pedis.

Super Contributor