Esteemed Contributor

I use to color my hair at home, then started going ot the salon. Tired of the dye getting on my floor and having to scrub the tile. With covid, I decided to color it myself.

I ordered a beautiful shade of Madison Reed in medium brown online. I got it a week or so ago, decided to color my hair today.

Thank God I didn't leave it in my hair as long as it said, but my hair is about a reddish black. This is not a pretty color. I have washed it probably 10 times, used baking soda and prell, let it set.

It didn't do a lot of good. Be careful if you decide to DIY your hair. This is hideous.

Esteemed Contributor

@happycat 

Sorry you had such a bag experience!

I've been coloring my own hair at home for over 20 years.

Without exception, it always looks as good or better than salon color.

I normally chose a light brown in box color as it takes darker on my hair. 

Maybe they gave you the wrong color?

Contributor

Try Mayo or a really cheap heavy conditioner. It will help push the dye molecules out without harsh fading also go out in the sun .

Valued Contributor

@happycat wrote:

I use to color my hair at home, then started going ot the salon. Tired of the dye getting on my floor and having to scrub the tile. With covid, I decided to color it myself.

I ordered a beautiful shade of Madison Reed in medium brown online. I got it a week or so ago, decided to color my hair today.

Thank God I didn't leave it in my hair as long as it said, but my hair is about a reddish black. This is not a pretty color. I have washed it probably 10 times, used baking soda and prell, let it set.

It didn't do a lot of good. Be careful if you decide to DIY your hair. This is hideous.