Respected Contributor

Hair and haircuts

[ Edited ]

AE538A9D-AA74-408F-B90F-061B01D97D96.jpeg

I've had one haircut all year. My hair is curly and grey on top and mixed in but my back and sides are still dark blonde. I've been growing out my grey for several years so it's mixed all through but my hair isn't growing out solid grey. Anyway my hair is down mid back past my bra strap. I walk every morning in humidity and my curls are a mess after that. The only day my hair looks nice is wash day. Then again I'm home all the time so no biggie.

I'm thinking about a shorter cut but I do love my long ringlets. I don't know what to do. I cut it early 2019 before I broke my arm and that was a good thing because my husband had to do my hair for a while. I liked it but at the time I didn't know how to style it to get the most of my curls. I know more now what my hair likes and needs. Any advice? I'm talking about no shorter than shoulder length. 
ETA a pic. This was today after a wash but not enough gel and running around in the yard. It looks fuzzy. Normally I will diffuse some between air drying which I didn't get a chance to do today. 

Honored Contributor

@Lali1 

I have curly hair, too.  When I am looking for a change I google "short curly hairstyles" (or whatever length you may like) & a ton of options display.  I create a hair photo album & save all the hairstyles that may potentially work, then I consult with my hairstylist to pick the one that best suits my face shape, personality, etc.

Over the years, I've come to realize that shorter styles work best for me, but you're right...it needs to be long enough for the ringlets to curl.

Have fun!

Time is just a drop in the bucket compared to eternity. It isn’t how long you live that matters; it is how well you are prepared to die. ~~Colonel Robert B. Thieme, Jr.
Respected Contributor

@SurferWife wrote:

@Lali1