Trusted Contributor

Grey-haired ladies, is your hair healthier now?

For the ladies who have stopped dyeing their hair.

Every four weeks out comes the Colorsilk brown.

So tired of the work to keep this going.

When I do let it go a little too long between coloring, parts of my hair grow out a really pretty blue - toned gray.

I'm wondering if, for those among us who have stopped coloring their hair, is it healthier than when dyeing?

I wish really that I had never started.

Esteemed Contributor

Re: Grey-haired ladies, is your hair healthier now?

Bottom line, I dyed my hair since the age of 12.  My father was not all that happy.  When I got to be an adult and as a school teacher my kids used to peak in the door just to see what new color I have created for myself.  AND THEN MY HAIR JUST WOULD NOT DYE.  THE COLOR WOULD NOT TAKE.  So I went to a professional who did it for me.                            

Then I got vertigo (positional) and could no longer go backwards in a sink so I let it go.  And boy what a surprise.  My color resistant hair was actually silver white.  And the compliment keep coming.  It is my most "admired feature."  

I am very happy.  Solid, shiny hair, wash and go, no product.  Heredity at its best.  

Honored Contributor

When I was young I had beautiful dark auburn hair. It was striking. However, it started to grey at a young age, and I colored it - but you really can't dye red hair - there is no color that looks like real red hair.I had chemo and when my hair grew back in it was more white than red and I've never dyed it again even though I was only 34 then.

My hair now - at 69 - is pure white, shiny and healthy. It's been white longer than it was ever auburn.Ladies at the hair salon will ask the stylists if they can get their grey hair to be the color mine is, and the stylists just say no, only God makes that color hair.Barbara Bush white.

Esteemed Contributor

[ Edited ]