Esteemed Contributor

@bargainsgirl wrote:

How timely is this!  I will be 67 in a few weeks.  I have dark brown chin length hair.  I have been debating what to do about going gray for a few years.  Since the virus hit, I have not colored at all since end of Feb.!  It is mostly silvery around my face/hairline and very little gray throughout.  Some days I like it some I don't.  Still not sure what to do.  I have a box of Madison Reed here just in case!!  Wish

they had grey dye so one can see a total affect!!

Good luck to you and I commend you on your decision!!

You could always try on a wig with a similar style, but gray???

Fear not Brothers and Sisters! I have read THE BOOK..........we win!!!
Respected Contributor

Good for you for accepting it and realizing coloring is a lot of work. I did the same around age 50. Truth is I can't remember when I stopped coloring. My hair is still not solid a lot in the back is still dark blonde. I also let my natural curls go at the same time and I'm very happy with both those decisions. My hairdresser also said I was too young. Now she's fine with my decision and compliments me on the texture and color of my grey. 

Honored Contributor

Re: Going gray — at 34

[ Edited ]

@Smc09    To begin... My Mother was prematurely grey and all my life my Mother had white silver hair as a young woman... my Irish roots....

I started getting greys at 18.  By age 22 my hair looked frosted.... I enjoyed my frosted hair until at age 32, when one day a customer told me YOU LOOK 10 YEARS OLDER WITH THAT GREY HAIR..... and the next day I started to color my hair... all because of a rude comment by a male customer...

I colored my WHITE hair for the next 25 years.... in 2013 I had knee replacement and decided to forgo coloring my hair for a few months... I ended up cutting my hair short and growing my WHITE hair out ...