Valued Contributor

Re: Foundation that stays put under surgical mask?

First, when doctors and nurses scrub in for surgery, they are doing their arms, hands, fingers, not their faces or rest of their bodies.

Second, the patient is supposed to be makeup free because we need to see the color of your skin to assess circulation/oxygenation.

Third, no contacts or eye makeup because the meds used in surgery can be drying to the eye. If contacts or mascara get into your eye, it can scratch the cornea.

Fourth, I'm a nurse and have also had a few surgeries- the majority of the female nurses in the OR had makeup on. Now, if a nurse is wearing false eyelashes like they do on DWTS, that may be a problem. But foundation and eye makeup- no issues there.

Valued Contributor

OP: Good luck with your nursing career.

Highlighted
Contributor

I have been a OR nurse for more years than I care to tell. I have used Revlon color stay, but now use MUF face and body for more natural look. Some nurses wear mu some don't, about 50/50. I feel that makeup shows a professional polished appearance.
Respected Contributor

There have been several votes for Revlon Color Stay, so that may be your best choice and inexpensive to boot!

Do what is right for you in your situation!!!

Respected Contributor

If you work in OR, just don't wear any jewelry. I see nurses on TV wearing earrings standing over a patient was an opening in their body and I cringe.

Even on TV they should try to make everything look right.

Super Contributor

There are so many good ideas in here. I have used Revlon Colorstay for years, and I love it. I have sweated in it, and blot with a tissue often with no noticeable or memorable transfer when I do, but I do not rub nor do I have constant friction going on against it. I have heard excellent things about the Estee Lauder Double Wear too, and I was going to try that next out of curiosity. I am also now curious about the Merle Norman some have mentioned in this thread.