Frequent Contributor

Ends are super dry all of a sudden :(

Hi guys! I've been using Wen for 2 years this week! Wow! I've tried various products in the line and am totally committed to Wen. Lately my ends have all of a sudden become really dry. I pretty much use only TT CC and SC with a drop of oil mixed with the SC. Occasionally I use a curling iron but always air dry. Lately I ran out of TT SC and finished off a bit of Pom SC while waiting for TT cream to arrive. Any thoughts as to why the ends would feel dry and crispy? TIA!
Super Contributor

Re: Ends are super dry all of a sudden :(

My ends feel this way whenever I use products with too much protein. It's why I can't use 613 or any of the seasonals. It doesn't sound as though you are using these, though, so I'm sorry I can't be of more help.

Respected Contributor

On 3/17/2015 Colonel Meow said:

My ends feel this way whenever I use products with too much protein. It's why I can't use 613 or any of the seasonals. It doesn't sound as though you are using these, though, so I'm sorry I can't be of more help.

So the Seasonal's have more protein than the core's?....I was thinking the seasonal's were more moisturizing than the core's though. So dry ends might not be a lack of moisture but too much protein...good to know...

Super Contributor

On 3/17/2015 quadmimi said:

So the Seasonal's have more protein than the core's?....I was thinking the seasonal's were more moisturizing than the core's though. So dry ends might not be a lack of moisture but too much protein...good to know...

Yes, the seasonals are more treatment intensive (meaning protein, among other things). Although I've not tried it yet, Summer Honey Peach had rave reviews from last summer. Many reviews said that it gave all the treatment benefits of the typical seasonals, and exceptional moisturization. I plan to try SHP when it is offered again, in hopes that it may end my seasonal jinx.

Honored Contributor