Honored Contributor

Dyson Super Sonic Hair Dryer

I saw this is going to be a TSV, it sells for $399 with free shipping. Is this a new model, also does anyone think it is worth the cost? I am really on the fence, $399 is pretty steep for a hair dryer (I don't think I have ever paid more than $100 for a dryer). I'm not good with my hair, I would hate to waste that much money on something I won't use.

Esteemed Contributor

Re: Dyson Super Sonic Hair Dryer

While I don't own one, my hairdresser has one she uses on her clients. It is the original Dyson.

She swears by it for only 1 reason and that is it cuts the drying time down by at least 1/2 so she can get clients with coarse, unruly, hard to dry hair out the door quicker. This makes her day more productive by getting clients in and out on time.

She uses it on my long, fine hair and I have a lot. I notice faster drying time but other that that, it's a meh for me.

Highlighted
Honored Contributor

@SnowpuppyThat's pretty much what my stylist told me when the T3 came on the market years ago.  I never bought one because I don't have long, heavy hair that takes a long time to dry.    I understand completely why someone who is earning their living styling hair would want to save off minutes.  They can pick up extra clients with the time saved  and time is money in their business.

Honored Contributor

My DD is a hairstylist.  One of her coworkers has this dryer and loves it.  However, she admitted the only reason she has it is because it was a gift and that she wouldn’t spend that kind of money herself. 

I recently purchased Mario Cartier’s turbo dryer from hsn.  It’s powerful.  When I purchased, it included his shampoo and conditioner bundled with the dryer and all for $75.  

Trusted Contributor

I have the Dyson from a couple years ago and yes, it was $399. My hair is now short and curly so I let it air dry, when it was straight and long, I used the drier and it did dry faster. No magic involved, save your money...