Trusted Contributor
With salon closed, please recommend sue brand and tips to dye hair.
I have natural medium brown coloring grey. I suppose I will do my whole head compared to roots since I won’t get a perfect match.
Esteemed Contributor

Just be sure to process the roots only for the first half of the process time, then do the rest of the hair. The ends are porous and absorb more color. I use Clairol's grey busters medium brown, and it comes out perfect every time.

I use clairol's professional formula (small bottle), and 20 volume developer, You always  mix equal amounts of each. 

Respected Contributor

Re: Dye hair 1st time

[ Edited ]

I've been coloring my own hair for 4 years. I recommend Loreal Superior Preference brand. It's easy, it covers well, and is pretty gentle. Coloring your hair is easy. I usually section it, start at the roots, and then add to the rest of that section. I have thick, medium-length, wavy hair. If you have shorter hair, you may not have to do all that. Wear the plastic gloves that come with it so you don't end up temporarily staining your hands. After waiting the directed time and shampooing, I always put in a conditioner and rinse. There is a plethora of colors. I have dark blonde hair and use 8A (ash) to avoid a brassy look. Good luck and have fun! I bet it turns out lovely.

image.png

Esteemed Contributor

Im with @manny2  and buy a tube of Redken Color Fusion and 20 developer. I've watched my hairdresser enough! Good for root touchups.

You can get both on ebay.

Honored Contributor

Clariol root touch up is very forgiving

Stop being afraid of what could go wrong and start being positive what could go right.
Honored Contributor

What about a powder for the few times you go out?

If I spent good $$ for a color, I would hate to mess it up with a

drugstore brand...they would have to correct any mistakes.

In the big picture, some root showing for a couple months 

might make more sense than the fallout cleanup with