Occasional Contributor

Dr Denese Hydroshield drying?

I recently purchased the QVC2 big deal with the megasize Hydroshield and day cream. Is it just me or does the Hydroshield dry anyone elses skin out? I've never used these products before but the Hydroshield claims to be super moisturising but I really believe its irriating my skin and making it dry? Anyone else have this issue?

Frequent Contributor

Re: Dr Denese Hydroshield drying?

I'm guessing it's the retinol that's causing this.

Ingredients: Dimethicone, Glycine Soja (Soybean Seed Extract), Ceramides, Retinol, Tocopherol, Linoleic Acid, Linolinic Acid, Octyl (Ethylhexyl) Cocoate, Lecithin, Glycolipids, Phenoxyethanol.

Respected Contributor

I don't find it at all drying, but I think @summer is probably right. A certain percentage of people seem to find retinol irritating, which might feel like a drying effect.

Respected Contributor

I absolutely found Hydroshield drying to my skin, after I stopped using it, it took a long time for my skin to recover.  I might add that this was a long time ago, and it looks like the 'dryness' issue is ongoing.  Maybe a formula adjustment with the type of retinol used would help with the dryness problem.

Frequent Contributor

I understand what you're trying to say, I find it difficult to describe. I use the recent TSV along with the lipid oil and my skin has been looking great.  Are you using a moisturizer also?  I don't think the SPF 30 (which I also love) counts as a moisturizer.

Esteemed Contributor