Honored Contributor

Re: Do you use “OTC” retinol or RX?

[ Edited ]

@Longhorn Gal wrote:

I get Tretinoin cream .05% from TaraSkinCare.  I do have a question for anyone who can answer.  Is the cream or gel better?  On TSC they have the Tretinion Gel in .05, .025, or .1%.  Just wondering which delivery system is better for wrinkles?  

@Longhorn Gal 

The gel is usually recommended for oily skin. Neither one is any better than the other. The higher the dose, the more effective. But your skin has to tolerate increasing the dose over time. I plan on working a .1% into my routine by using it once a week or less then slowing more frequently until my skin adjusts. I will use both the .1 and the .05 on different nights until I can eliminate the .05 altogether.

Trusted Contributor

@wvumountiefan  I have been using retinol products for about 20 years.  I currently use Paula's Choice 1% retinol product which I love. It is a gentle retinol which I use every 3rd day. I am 61 and have very few lines on my forehead and some small smile lines (crow's feet) none other than that. 

Regular Contributor

I know that’s not what you asked, but for the first time I’m trying a retinal from Costco. A South Korean product that gives retinal vs retinol. I’m looking for a stronger form of retinal 0.05%. For those interested has excellent reviews. Two tubes, o.7 oz for under 40. Back in the 80’s it was a bit harder to get your hands on Rx RetinA so I didn’t use much. Waiting for mine. I’m ready to try at age 58 yrs...looking for extra oomph....stay golden....
Valued Contributor