Respected Contributor

Re: Do you prefer Gel, Acrylic or dip nails?

My nails are healthy and strong so I don't do gel, acrylic or dipped.

Honored Contributor

[ Edited ]

I'm very new at getting my nails professionally done. I've been going every 2 weeks. I get mine with shellac, so is that gel? I've always done my own nails but my polish just doesn't last. Also I have pretty horrible nails. But since I'm having my nail tech take over, my nails look absolutely fantastic! I just love looking down at my hands and finally see pretty hands!Yay!

"Pure Michigan"
Trusted Contributor

I love gel polish, it lasts and lasts and it protects the nails as well. For the last few years I have gotten a pink and white - basically an acrylic french manicure, love the clean look of a french manicure, I don't normally do nail art.

Critter Lover! (especially cats!)
Honored Contributor

Years ago I used to get silk wrapped nails.  Loved it, but very time consuming.

Valued Contributor

I too get hard gel nails. My current nail tech is starting to charge $120, up from $100, on March 1. I'm thinking of going elsewhere. 

@SurferWife wrote:

I've tried all three and I prefer hard gel nails, with gel polish on top.  For me, hard gel nails last longer than acrylic and they don't lift. Dipped powder just didn't make my nails feel strong. With hard gel nails I can go 5 weeks before I need to get them filled.

Respected Contributor

@ MissDior wrote: i  too get hard gel nails. My current nail tech is starting to charge $120, up from $100, on March 1. I'm thinking of going elsewhere.

$120 for gel nails? Oh my goodness !  That's extremely expensive IMO !  I pay $43 for my gel nails.  My total bill for my dipped nails, pedicure and polish and having my brows done was $85. 

Super Contributor