Respected Contributor

Re: Curly girls -- Please check-in

I was just looking at old pictures and realized that I've been working with my wavy hair for two years. I was born with stick straight hair that suddenly started getting wavy so for me it has definitely been a struggle. My hair looked so bad and so frizzy when I first attempted to embrace my waves. I think my biggest mistake was following YouTube videos, though. Everyone always talks about applying products straight out of the shower, which does not work for at all. I have thin fine hair but it tangles like nothing else so I'm committing the ultimate crime by brushing my hair first before applying products.

I'm not following the Curly Girl Method 100% but I feel like I've found what works for me and I can get pretty consistent results at this point. I diffuse every time regardless of the weather. My hair takes forever to dry and I get much more defined waves with my Xtava diffuser.

I will never get a curly girl cut. I simply would never be able to commit to something like that. I have 2B waves and if I'm feeling lazy I like the fact that I can just brush my hair, air dry and it pretty much dries straight.

I like DevaCurl's products but lately I've been using Bounce Curl with good results. I also like the Innersense line. Definitely not cheap products but as long as they work it's worth it to me.

Respected Contributor

@Ms tyrion2 wrote:

I've been all over the globe trying different hair products. From drugstore to higher end.

My experience is mine alone, but here goes. There IS a difference in quality and performance. The higher end ingredients are much better for my curls.

I started with 2A, 2B waves. I am  now getting some 2C curls. I got a Deva haircut and began using higher quality products. 

So far, Deva, jessicurl and Ecoslay Orange Marmalade are clear and convincing winners. The Ecoslay gel is quite amazing. Big, loopy waves with some nice coils.