Esteemed Contributor

Re: Cosmetics Rated for Harmful Chemicals

[ Edited ]

@Icegoddess -- there was an article in our local newspaper about the discovery of one possible harmful chemical in all cosmetics -- and that particular chemical has been in cosmetics (mainly lipsticks and waterproof mascaras) since the dawn of time, but is not listed on most ingredient lists.  I read the article, but didn't memorize it.  I assume since I've been using cosmetics for most of my 72 years, it's too late for me!   Save yourselves!

* A woman is like a tea bag. You can't tell how strong she is until you put her in hot water. *
- Eleanor Roosevelt
Esteemed Contributor

@tototwo wrote:

@Icegoddess -- there was an article in our local newspaper about the discovery of one possible harmful chemical in all cosmetics -- and that particular chemical has been in cosmetics (mainly lipsticks and waterproof mascaras) since the dawn of time, but is not listed on most ingredient lists.  I read the article, but didn't memorize it.  I assume since I've been using cosmetics for most of my 72 years, it's too late for me!   Save yourselves!

Think you are referring to PFAS.  These have been used for years, and it's just now that we are hearing about their presence in our cosmetics.

Cosmetics are largely unregulated, unfortunately.  I guess people are assuming that if something is widely available, it must be safe, but that's not always true.

"Heartburn Can Cause Cancer" -- www.ecan.org
Highlighted
Honored Contributor

I had two different doctors tell me that we only absorb 1% of what we put on our skin. Dunno if I believe it. But if it's bad, I don't want even 1% of it.

Esteemed Contributor

@Judaline wrote:

I had two different doctors tell me that we only absorb 1% of what we put on our skin. Dunno if I believe it. But if it's bad, I don't want even 1% of it.