Respected Contributor

Re: Anyone use the mildest strength of retin A?

I was able to start at higher levels, but now have to use the lowest strength every other night.  My skin got drier and I couldn't tolerate the higher levels.  I have even had to go a couple weeks not using it.

I used to use it on my neck, decollette, and under my eyes.  I have had to go to non prescription strength in those areas.

I have also read the opinion that the lower strength is just as helpful for anti-aging.

Hyacinth

Respected Contributor

I have been using Retin A for about 25 years and I am 68 years old. Mine is not the lowest strength but I am actually going to talk to my derm and see if I should lower it. I have not had any adverse reactions. It bothers my neck so I don't use it there but do use it on my face and backs of my hands. Make sure that you don't get near the corners of your mouth or nose. At night I don't use anything else other than Josie's Divine Drip and a dab of her Reserve. I do this in the winter months when my skin is exceptionally dry. I agree that so many of these serums that we have fallen prey to, don't do much of anything. Another important component is wearing sunscreen daily. Retin A will cause hypersensitivity so SPF is a must. Sunscreen in makeup is definitely not enough coverage so make sure that you use a separate SPF. Good luck.

Honored Contributor

[ Edited ]
@Nadine wrote:

I saw my Dr today and asked about it. I'm just tired of buying one thing after another and not really getting results. I'm ready to try this but wondered what to expect and does it really have anti-aging properties. I have really dry sensitive skin .

Tretinoin (Retin-A) makes you look younger because it basically does three things:

1- promotes cell growth at the molecular level

2- inhibits a skin enzyme found to break down collagen, resulting in thickening of the skin

3- inhibits the production of melanin produced by melanocytes, resulting in fading dark spots.