Respected Contributor

I've been coloring my hair (root touch ups) for probably 40 years.  All have applied the color to my roots only and then every so often lightly streak it through the rest of my hair.

I've been going to my current salon since right before Covid started.  They use what I think is a good brand of products.

The issue is that my hair starts lightening up after about ten days or so and by the time I have it done at the 4 week mark,it's so light that I'm almost a blonde.

Do some brands/lines hold to the hair longer than others?  I'm wondering if I should change salons and see what happens with another brand.  Any thoughts or suggestions??  Thanks.

Honored Contributor

Re: Any hair color pros here?

Are you using a top notch color protective shampoo?  It makes a difference for me with my red color, so I use only Nexxus or Biolage.

Honored Contributor

Use a sulfate free shampoo.

Respected Contributor

@Shelbelle 

I do

Respected Contributor

@Bridgegalmy hair also changes color very quickly, within 2 weeks. I always use sulfate free shampoo. Nothing I have tried stops the change. It also does not matter what color my  hair when I walk out of the salon it changes fast. I just learned that is what my hair does. Maybe someone has a solution.

Honored Contributor

Have you discussed it with your hairdresser?  Maybe a color depositing shampoo/conditioner occasionally between visits. 

For me, I color red, and red being the largest molecule of the natural hair colors, it's gonna fade.  I only use a sulfate-free shampoo, but since I also somewhat follow a curly girl method I only shampoo once a week and use a Co-wash on other days.  But, even then, I color my ends every time I do my roots.