Regular Contributor

Any Women of Color WEN Users Out There?

Hello, I'm new to WEN. I've seen the commercials for years (always entertaining). I've finally broken down and tried it. I'm interested in any pearls of wisdom for Black hair. My hair is natural. I've used it three times now - once a week. The first time I was ecstatic. Now, I'm not so sure. My scalp became very itchy after the second time. My ends, while admittedly not as dry as before, are still dry. Any recommendations?

Esteemed Contributor

Re: Any Women of Color WEN Users Out There?

Hi DrCEB! Welcome!

I'm natural also. I currently use Wen Fig, Wen Re Moist and Wen 613.

My scalp got itchy also, and at the suggestion of the Wenners, I oiled my scalp. I didn't have the patience to wait for the Wen oils to get delivered, so I used what I had.

Wen 613 strengthened my ends and Wen Fig when used as a leave-in stopped the dryness.

Wen works wonders over time, so be consistent. I've been using various formulas since September, but I have solely used Wen Fig since November.

Get your flu shot...because I didn't.
Super Contributor

DrCEB, I must tell you, I am not AA, but I experienced the itchiness at the very beginning as well. Since you have only used Wen 3 times, definitely stick it out and see how it goes - AND, oil your scalp as HonnyBrown said. Welcome to Wen :-)
Respected Contributor

Hi DrCEB, I amAA and have been using WEN for about 2 yrs now. The first thing I would say is to make sure you watch the DVD orChaz's videos at Chazdean.com. I followed the instructions at first and wasn't getting what I needed until I foundthe videos. Due to our extreme need for moisture, our basic instructions are different. This could be why you are experiencing the scalp issue. Definitely use the oils though. I experienced major hair growth after incorporating especially Tea Tree oil into my routine.
Happy WEN Girl since 1/12/2012
Esteemed Contributor