Regular Contributor

Ammonia free hair color for home use

Do you use an ammonia free hair coloring that you could recommend.? 

Trusted Contributor

Re: Ammonia free hair color for home use

I use ammonia-free Revlon.

Contributor

I have been using Madison Reed for a few months now.  I originally heard about them through an email offer I received from Town and Country Magazine.  I am now on their auto delivery program.  Their color is the best I have ever used, gentle to my hair and unbelieveable shine. Also, their customer service is the best. Their website is: madison-reed.com.  Check it out!

Honored Contributor

When I colored my hair I used Natural Insincts.  It covers gray, gives a beautiful shine and lasts long.

kindness is strength
Respected Contributor

I can't  use ammonia free to get the color saturation I want with reds.  Red color really does need the ammonia to make the color penetrate better. You can only get so much of a red tintish with an ammonia.  My color is a medium vibrant red.

Honored Contributor

@Tigriss wrote:

I can't  use ammonia free to get the color saturation I want with reds.  Red color really does need the ammonia to make the color penetrate better. You can only get so much of a red tintish with an ammonia.  My color is a medium vibrant red.

Really? I switched to using ammonia-free red dye two years ago and the only difference I've noticed is in the ammonia-free color smells better and my hair feels less dry afterward.

Respected Contributor

What brand of ammonia free hair color? I like a brighter red than most auburn hair colors.
Honored Contributor

Revlon Colorsilk is ammonia free, been using it for last 18 years, under $3 at Target and Walmart. I use Dark Auburn, but there are lighter auburn shades too, highly recommend.

Honored Contributor