Contributor

Re: A Test To Check Your Lip Products and Makeup For Lead

As a chemist I know you can put a water on aluminum foil and over time it eventually will also rub off with a dark color. A black resdidue is not a confirmation for lead but perhaps aluminum oxide.  The only way this technique could be proved to show the presence of lead is to have the residue analyzed.  Don't be fooled by anything visual.  

Valued Contributor

@phoenixbrd wrote:

Midnight...I appreciate you posting this. Thank you for taking the time to empower us.  Of course certain manufacturers would rather we don't have this information and will denigrate efforts to expose this information.  How did the Suzanne Sommers test?

ITA! And the beauty experts (LOL) posting here ALWAYS have to defend the products they use. So typical and predictable.

Honored Contributor

So typical and predictable.

Just like you. HeartWoman LOLWoman LOLWoman LOL

☼The best place to seek God is in a garden. You can dig for him there. GBShaw☼
Valued Contributor

@mostf wrote:

As a chemist I know you can put a water on aluminum foil and over time it eventually will also rub off with a dark color. A black resdidue is not a confirmation for lead but perhaps aluminum oxide.  The only way this technique could be proved to show the presence of lead is to have the residue analyzed.  Don't be fooled by anything visual.  

mostf now this i can believe..Snopes debunking and the fda saying there are safe amounts in makeup no...I dont want any lead in my makeup.....I came to post a sight i found that is a voice for safer cosmetics and they said they cant say the tinfoil test is accurate also...I just found a website called skin deep and will look there for a couple items..Thank you for sharing!.

Jean want to thank you to even tho i have no trust in the FDA your heart was in the right place....Wishing all of you a happy thanksgiving.

Respected Contributor

@Midnight11 wrote:

@mostf wrote: