Respected Contributor

Your Divorce? Was it more important to be Practical or Happy?

[ Edited ]

After 48 years of marriage I'm  considering divorce.  I'm just not happy. Dh is a good man. Takes care of the yard, cars, house. Great at fixing things. A good father, grandfather and good provider. We just don't have anything in common. After both of us being retired for seven years, we hardly talk to each other, other than to take care of household things. It's getting  hard living with someone I can't talk to. I feel lonelier than if I was alone. The only time the house feels alive and normal is when the kids or grandkids are here. I can finally afford to live on my own, something I've never done before. Am I being foolish and impractical?  Is being happy overrated?(I'm  68, Dh is 70) I know of couples who live with him in one room watching tv and her in the other but I'm  just not happy. I'm also worried about the effect it will have on my Adult children and my young grandchildren. I know it will change the family dynamics. Especially, since family holiday dinners are at our house. I know ultimately only I can answer this question for me but I'd like to hear experiences from others who have left a long term marriage. Please no bashing or suggestions for  counseling or talking it out. He won't go to counseling and doesn't want to talk.

"Kindness is like snow ~It beautifies everything it covers"
-Kahlil Gibran
Honored Contributor

Re: Your Divorce? Was it more important to be Practical or Happy?

Peace of mind is worth everything and happiness is right along side.

BE THE PERSON YOUR DOG THINKS YOU ARE! (unknown)
Respected Contributor