Respected Contributor

Re: What Was Your First Legal Paying Job?

I was a sophomore in high school, no work papers necessary.  For the Christmas Season after school, I was a wrapper at B. Altman's & Company in Manhattan.  Every day after school, late night on Thursdays and all day Saturday for $35.00 a week.  The wrapping department was in the basement.  All the wrapping paper and ribbon was in big rolls above your head.  The merchandise would come down through pneumatic tubes with the receipts, you would wrap and tie the ribbon into bows, attach the receipts on the outside and place on a conveyor belt where it would be sorted to either be shipped out or returned to the floor for the customer to take home.  If you were really, really good you were placed on the floor in the personal gift wrap section.  I thought $35.00 a week was a lot of money!  After all these years, I still wrap the same way.............all the same paper, wired ribbon with home made bows!

Respected Contributor

I only babysat in high school.  After graduation I got hired at our small town newspaper.  I typed copy, learned to set up ads, answered the phone, etc.  Eventually they let me write a few things.  It was fun.

Respected Contributor

@Mj12 wrote:

When I was 16 I was an Usherette at the Garden State Arts Center in NJ.  After we directed people to their seats, we stood in our area and watched amazing concerts every night in the Summer.  Best job ever.

That was the same with my summer theater job...saw so many performers..back then the perfomer did a week of shows, often the headliner would have a comedian opening for them...by the end of the week we'd know the act by heart, lol.  Saw so many singers, groups, musicals...and the comedians then...George Carlin, Joan Rivers, Don Rickles, David Brenner, Robert Klein... all the greats.