Respected Contributor

Negatve Things a Teacher Said to You in School?

[ Edited ]

I am a retired teacher and tried to say things differently to students especially things that need correcting etc. I feel for those in the profession today. Some comments do remain. 

Every single time I see  a picture  or real blue flowers I think of a teacher that told me "There is no such thing as blue flowers." that I colored.  My Father told me I tried too hard and when I told her that, she said there was no such thing as trying to hard. Dad saw my frustration trying  to succeed at home.

The meanest one  I had  who had a kitchen timer for 5 min. Bathroom breaks and 15 min. recess told me "Your handwriting will never make it ! " I began to print in 6th grade and only signed a signature. They don't even teach cursive in school any more.

Stupid.... but it is never forgotten.  Those two grades I happily moved out of in school. All and all I liked school and still enjoy learning.

Honored Contributor

Re: Negatve Things a Teacher Said to You in School?

Went to my math teacher for help and she said "sit down and figure it out yourself."  From that day on I lost all interest in Math and to this day am horrible at it.

Respected Contributor

I don't remember anything negative being said to me I had good encouraging teachers as far as I an remember, but I'm old probably don't remember everything.  Well once a boy kissed me in something like first grade and the teacher kind of shamed both of us when I didn't encourage or want to be kissed.

Last year my granddaughter had a teacher that was in her last year of teaching and my granddaughter is a twin, one twin as fine but the other is very sensitive and shy and the teacher made fun of her a lot, I think she knew she could get away with it.  We were glad when last year ended!