Valued Contributor

Re: NO send off for hosts who have been on QVC for 19 + years????

After many years of management  DH was told the Monday of Thanksgiving week, years ago that he was no longer needed...when he got back from lunch.

Someone cleaned out his stuff for him and brought it to the parking lot.

They changed the job title and hired someone much younger for a lot less money.

Money is everything when belt tightening.

He never looked back.

@Krimpette wrote:

Many years ago when I was laid off, there was no party of any sort.  I had been with the company for about 40 years and I was an officer. They were "eliminating my job".

Honored Contributor

Contract employees fully understand that termination is always possible from the time they sign their name on the legal document.  

Both employees had a long run and most likely left in a better position than most; I seriously doubt they are whining about being terminated from their jobs.

Honored Contributor

@chrystaltree wrote:

They were not FIRED!   Using that word in these circumstances is wrong, hurtful and disrespectful.  They were layed off.  There was a "reduction in force" and they were let go.  They didn't get a big send off because they didn't resign voluntarily or retire.  No company treats lay offs like it's something to be celebrated.  There's no cake and balloons when you walk into HR and they tell you it's over. It's done.  Here's your benefit package.  This is 2023.  They said their goodbye and thanked their fans on Facebook.  

Semantics...fired, laid off, reduction in force, let go.  

Honored Contributor

People are so naive about how big corporations work. What Q did is done every day. 

Start voting for politicians who put people before big corporate donors.

Honored Contributor

[ Edited ]

@PhillyGirl23    I think my decision to stop watching Q after the "free shipping slap in the face" was a good one.