Super Contributor

Re: I hate to admit it I'm a little scared to go to my town's "FEST"

@suzyQ3 I'm sure there a lot of reasons that people homeschool, and that there are all sorts of reasons for an increase. I just read an article that said that is one of them; I have no knowledge of homeschooling or the why or why not.

Not sure if you meant me when you referred to breathing exercises. I'm sure that's a good idea for people who are anxious. I'm not anxious, though - just stubborn. LOL

Honored Contributor

@AussieLuvr wrote:

@suzyQ3 I'm sure there a lot of reasons that people homeschool, and that there are all sorts of reasons for an increase. I just read an article that said that is one of them; I have no knowledge of homeschooling or the why or why not.

Not sure if you meant me when you referred to breathing exercises. I'm sure that's a good idea for people who are anxious. I'm not anxious, though - just stubborn. LOL

@AussieLuvr, oh, no, I was referring to the OP and anyone else experiencing such anxiety. My post was not just a response about home schooling but some thoughts for the OP.

But going back to the home schooling issue and fear of school shootings, I do think that those parents who pull their kids out of school for that reason alone are setting up their children to be fearful of life.

It's okay to worry, but not so great to put all your own fears on your children.

~Who in the world am I? Ah, that's the great puzzle~ Lewis Carroll, Alice in Wonderland
Frequent Contributor

I remember 3 months after 9/11 i took a plane  ride to visit my parents. Someone said 'aren't you afraid?,,,,I told him, i cannot live my life in fear. 

Frequent Contributor

I just saw on the news about someone shooting at a gas station. I dont think there was a reason for it at all. Sad world.

Honored Contributor

Yes, I read the news. But I don't dwell on each new incident or shooting or anything else.