Respected Contributor

Re: Fed up of people giving themselves titles they have no right to

As far as the nursing school here at our university, you have to be a CNA to even enroll. This was started recently. If I was a nurse and somebody lied about being one and I did all that study and work, I would be mad too.

mm

"Cats are like potato chips, you can never have just one".
Super Contributor

@amaivy wrote:

@Sunnyfield \:

Here is the definition of doctor from Websters:

Full Definition of DOCTOR

a :  an eminent theologian declared a sound expounder of doctrine by the Roman Catholic Church —called also doctor of the church

b :  a learned or authoritative teacher

c :  a person who has earned one of the highest academic degrees (as a PhD) conferred by a university

d :  a person awarded an honorary doctorate (as an LLD or Litt D) by a college or university
a :  a person skilled or specializing in healing arts; especially :  one (as a physician, dentist, or veterinarian) who holds an advanced degree and is licensed to practice

Yes, I fully understand that he has a PhD, worked extremely hard to earn it, is an expert in his field,  and is entitled to use the title of "Dr." - what I am saying is that I think it is used  in situations and with people that don't know him,  that he is a medical doctor, not a PhD - in other words saying "I'm a doctor"....I find that pretentious...but that's just me....

Valued Contributor

[ Edited ]

Honored Contributor

Rest assured a nursing degree requires a certain amount of clinical experience as well as classroom/online experience. I have never run into a nurse who did their entire education online. Any nurse I have ever known who got an online degree already was an RN and just wanted to advance to a BSN.

Highlighted
Honored Contributor