Esteemed Contributor

Hubby and I try very hard and do not give up.  We are involved in an activity that we frequent to learn more about.  It is a form of dance.  We simply don't know how to give up since we meet all kind of nice people while we are doing it.  About a month ago we traveled out of our area, paid for two nights at a hotel just to participate.  We took our lessons (paid big bucks for that too) and two of the participants were very rude to us. In no simple words told us we were not good enough to continue since we had failed in the past.  I kid you not.  I was speechless and since I am a retired school teacher who never gave up on anyone I was devastated.  Seems they continued to spred the word and made us uncomfortable for the weekend.  

I guess I am venting but hopefully someone might have advice for the next time around when we encounter the same fun couple.  

Honored Contributor

@bonnielu 

So one couple spoiled your time there?

How dare they?

I wouldn't let them spoil my time anywhere, (because after all, who do they think they are?)

I probably would directly ask them to refrain from talking about you, and do it publicly.

Direct, honest ...go for that.

You could say: "Pardon me, we are here to have fun, just like everyone else here. You have spoiled our fun in the past by being cruel (or making cruel remarks) and you will not be allowed to do this again. Spoil our fun."

Put it out there in the open and I will bet the other members will openly support you.❤️

~Have a Kind Heart, Fierce Mind, Brave Spirit~
Respected Contributor

@bonnielu Isn't it awful how you said that you meet so many nice people & we let the comments of one couple haunt us?

No one can know why this couple felt the need to be mean.

Try to remember all of the nice people & let the nasty people fade from your memory.

Not easy, but just enjoy what you & your husband are doing & if you encounter that couple again smile & walk past them with your head high.