Respected Contributor

Anyone here work in Human Resources?

If I've been doing volunteer work since I retired, should I include it on my resume'?

Do employers care? 

Does it really "count" if I didn't get paid to do the work?

"The less you respond to negative people, the more peaceful your life will become."
Honored Contributor

Re: Anyone here work in Human Resources?

I don't work in HR but as a department manager, I did review hundreds resumes and I hired a couple of hundred people over the years.  It depends on what type of volunteer work you are talking about.  If it was directly related to the position you are applying for, if you "worked" regular hours and had the same responsiblilites that a paid employee would have had.  If you were supervised to the same extent a paid employee would have been; then, yes you definitely should included it on your resume.  I would have looked at it the same way I looked at an internship.  It's not a matter of employers "caring" about volunteer work, you would include it on your resume to show that you have relevant experience and you would want to use the person you reported to as a reference.  This can help if you have gaps in your employment history or if you don't have paid experience in the field but do have the experience as a volunteer.  

Frequent Contributor

I would absolutely include it!  While not in HR, I was a nursing manager for many years and hired lots of people throught my career. Your resume is a shapshot of your experience, and volunteering not only shows additional experience, it speaks well of the type of person you are!

Honored Contributor

@RinaRina  While I did not work in HR but as a supervisor I was on many interviewpanels to hire over the years.  Volunteer experience should always be shown on a resume.  The volunteer experience is a plus and as @code99  stated is speaks well for you character.

Respected Contributor