Honored Contributor

A lifetime of personal journals - what to do?

I've been keeping a personal journal for almost 40 years. There are some blank periods, but for the most part it's all there in black and white, purple, pink and a variety of other colors.

I was doing a thorough closet cleaning and came across them today, which got me wondering what to do about them.

The entries are from the heart, always truthful, though with a mindful consideration that someone could read them someday.  I know the truth can be hurtful sometimes and I wonder if it's wise to keep them.  There are no big secrets, just the usual trials and tribulations of wifehood and motherhood.  

I'm wondering if it's wise to keep them.  

What good could come of it?

Any thoughts?

~ house cat ~
Honored Contributor

Re: A lifetime of personal journals - what to do?

Do you sometimes read them for fun? Would you miss them if they were gone?

Do you have kids that might like them after you are gone?

Honored Contributor

@cherry

I've always planned to read them, but never have.

My sons are grown, no grandchildren.

I think my youngest son would take the time to read them.

~ house cat ~
Esteemed Contributor

I journal only when I'm going thru a stressed time. Always honest and sometimes raw. I don't hold back.

I don't keep mine for that reason. I also pitched old cards, love letters & momentos from old relationships DS knew nothing about.

I wouldn't put my child thru having to sort thru it.

Honored Contributor

Well unless you are pushed for space, why not keep them? There may come a time when you want to read them

You could let your youngest son decide what to do, when you are gone

Honored Contributor

[ Edited ]