Respected Contributor

Re: 60% of Americans Can't Pass a Civics Test!

It was a requirement to graduate from jr. high to high school (I was born & raised in SoCal) that everyone had to take & pass a civics/US government class throughout the whole 8th grade school year & hand in a binder with a long written essay in it at the end.  I graduated from high school in 1968, so this would've been in 1963.

Respected Contributor

I know one person who couldn't pass a civics test, for sure.  No way.

Esteemed Contributor

@september wrote:

@mom2four0418 / sadly, this seems to have evolved into another "bash the younger generation" post.  

the OP stated that this was an issue, not age related, that applies to all Americans.  I can believe that.  My earlier post, where I stated  that no one I spoke to yesterday, knew that debates were being  held last night....they all involved people who were 60+. 

It also turned into let's bash fellow posters. But what's new.

Wrong is still wrong just because you benefited from it.
Trusted Contributor

@scruffsmom wrote:

This will probbly get booted, but sometimes it seems as isome of the people in the higher echelons of our goverbnment couldn't pass a civics test. 

"SOMETiMES"  ???? 

Trusted Contributor

[ Edited ]

Edited to add: l DO vote and I cannot wait until the next big election!!!