Respected Contributor

Re: “❤️🙏🏻PLEASE REMEMBER🙏🏻❤️“..................

Thank you for you beautiful words. I am a lifelong resident of PIttsburgh. Never in my wildest imagination could I think something like this would happen here. I suppose that's what most of us think until it hits home. Our news has profiled each of the victims and it is just heartbreaking. Everyone of them were very special. These type of tragedies are becoming too commonplace. Today our Noon news mentioned that Robert Bowers smirked in the courtroom. Hopefully he will get the death penalty and not just sit on death row for the rest of his disgusting life!

Respected Contributor

Re: “❤️🙏🏻PLEASE REMEMBER🙏🏻❤️“

@Shanus wrote:

I also think this hatred and bias begins at home. It’s so important to discuss this with our children/grandchildren in a non-frightening way so they understand how some people don’t understand differences in other people’s beliefs. Instead of trying to learn about other cultures, some people fear it and they act out in a way that’s dangerous, hurtful and not acceptable.

My GDs 9 and 6 understood this. They were afraid to go to Sunday School. They called me to see if they’d be safe because they’re Jewish, too. Broke my heart. 

One of my grandson's who is 3 1/2 goes to daycare only minutes away from this synagogue in Pittsburgh. So many thoughts have run through my mind when this unfolded on Saturday. I just don't know what kind of world our little grandchildren will face when they get older. 

Trusted Contributor

Many of us have been expressing our heartbreak and disgust of this senseless tragedy since the news first broke within our usual chat threads here in Among Friends.