Frequent Contributor

Wen Bamboo Green Tea Question

Bought the TSV and decided to give Wen one last try (had poor results in the past on my long thick dry hair/sensitive scalp) I swear Chaz said this formula was rice based on air but the booklet enclosed with the TSV says it's "soy based" on page 13. Anyone know which is correct? Thank you! FYI the package came today. Any tips? Thank you!

1) Can I get away with less pumps? 20+ pumps of a bottle this size sounds like a ridiculous amount of product to use for a single hair wash. I wonder if that's=a cup.

2) Have some scalp irritation lately. Will the Bamboo or 613 be a better place to start?

Respected Contributor

Re: Wen Bamboo Green Tea Question

My order hasn't arrived yet, I ordered the BGT as well. I just checked on chazdean.com and looked at the BGT ingredients and it says rice. As for number of pumps, I would start with the recommended amount and see how well it works. You could adjust from there.

ETA - I'm not a WEN expert by any means, but I'm sure you'll get more input from the ladies with more experience. I have no experience with your scalp question.

Super Contributor

Hi gingi!

Gosh I hadn't looked at the booklet in a long time so I just dug mine out from the TSV and page 13 shows 613, that is soy based. BGT is rice based

1) How long is your hair? Mine is thick and just past my shoulders and I use 8-10 pumps for 1st cleanse and 8-10 pumps for second cleanse. It seems like a lot but I've never been able to go without washing my hair daily before Wen, now I go 3 days. For your first time trying again, please use the full amount, gauge the results for your hair, then adjust.

2) I just started using BGT myself so can't comment, but also have a lot of scalp irritation with my eczema. Anxious to see how it works (I used it today!)

KEY TIP: ADD A SPLASH OF WATER after you apply the CC. This is a game changer. You'll feel the CC bloom and froth up.

Frequent Contributor