New Contributor

I'm new to Philosophy and Purity after my favorite eye makeup remover seems to have been discontinued.  I bought the TSV Purity and it smells like wasp spray.  Considering all the great reviews on this product I'm curious if it's supposed to smell this way?

Trusted Contributor

I tried purity years ago, it dried my face like crazy.  I waited for awhile and tried it again, too harsh for my face.  I haven't tried since.  I really don't think it was a pleasant (like citrus or such) smell, as I would have remembered that aspect .

Respected Contributor

I could never really identify Purity's smell.  It did not have a citrusy smell to me.  I did use it for a while and it worked well for me but I didn't love it enough to keep buying it. 

Respected Contributor

I just sniffed my 32 oz and can't say that is smells like wasp spray. Just smells soapy and kind of generic to me. I will say that in the few times I have gotten some in my mouth by accident it tastes terrible.

It is a great make up remover though. Be sure to mix with water and massage in.

Trusted Contributor

Don't worry if you have a different opinion about purity...I tried it a few years ago.  I cannot use it.  Burned my eyes and dried out my face.  I was in the store that started with "U" and they were wanting to clean my face before trying on a foundation and wanted to use Purity.  I told them to keep that stuff away from me.  She never heard of someone not liking it.  Just a couple of seconds later, another woman was walking by and heard our conversation, and she said the same thing as me.  She didn't like Purity either for the same reason. 

Some people love it, and some people can't use it.  Everyone is different. 

Regular Contributor

I just smelled mine and it definitely doesn't smell like wasp spray or any type of bug spray. Mine seems void of scent. 

New Contributor