Honored Contributor

Have an old Apple Desk Top --- Need very basic help

I have an old Apple desk top which is like 7 years old but runs great.  However, I know next to nothing about it as I basically just use it for internet and e-mail use.

I know many here will laugh at me as I am not good with computers, but I will ask any way.

How do I:  

Get a picture from Google and then save it and size it, so I can insert it in an e-mail or a letter?  I have no idea.

Say for instance -- I have a young niece that I like to e-mail with and she loves different cartoon characters.  So, if I find a piciture of Mickey Mouse or Kermit the Frog on Google, how do I get it into my e-mail or letter?  

Please be very basic in your instructions as I do not know anything about saving pictures or anything of the sort.

Thank you and I appreciate it very much!!!  Smiley Very Happy

"A day without sunshine is like, you know, night." - Steve Martin
Honored Contributor

Re: Have an old Apple Desk Top --- Need very basic help

It is a Mac not an Apple, Apple is the parent company.

You should invest in a book with some basics.

I will assume you have no photo program

You can hit command,shift 3 at the same time , which iwll giveyou a screen shot that you can paste into an email.

This is a very basic set of instructions kept ver simple

Stop being afraid of what could go wrong and start being positive what could go right.
Honored Contributor

@I am still oxox

Oh, sorry.  I knew that, -- yes, Mac.  

I will try what you said.  So, should I get one of those books for a Mac that is one of those"Dummy" books?  Thanks. 

Honored Contributor

Or do you have an "Apple" store near you I know they give "classes" maybe you could sit in a on a very basic one

Stop being afraid of what could go wrong and start being positive what could go right.
Honored Contributor

@AngelPuppy1 wrote:

@I am still oxox

Oh, sorry.  I knew that, -- yes, Mac.