Respected Contributor

I have needed LOTS of sleep for as long as I can remember! As a child I hated school because I had to get up early. I would sleep 18 hours on weekends, but never felt awake! One year, on a family vacation, my kids kept waking me up because I was snoring! I mentioned it to my doc who told me I needed to exercise more! I barely stayed awake until my kids went to bed, I could never have found time to exercise, unless I could sleep walk! 😉 I ended up changing doctors and my new doc set up a sleep study. The morning after the study the guy gave me an oral survey about how I slept. I told him once I got used to the probes in my hair I slept like a baby! He asked if I dreamt to which I said yes. Then he asked about what. I couldn't quite recall, but I was sure I had! He smiled and let me go. Well...turns out I stop breathing 69 times an hour! I also got 0 minutes of REM!  

I have been sleeping with a bi-pap machine for 15 years now. I'm a wee bit more rested, but after losing 60 pounds I had another study done. Obesity is a major cause of the apnea and tho I need to lose about 10 more pounds, I had hoped for the best.😬 Not to be!😞 I was the tiniest bit improved. I still stop breathing over 60 times per hour and get a little REM! I had really hoped to be good enough to give up machine. I worry I'll forget it on vacation, and had to move in with dd when our power went out for four days after a storm.  I an a dedicated user, tho. I don't even nap for 20 mins without using my machine. I need a full face mask which bites into my nose. If you use a full face mask, what type do you use? What about power outages? I'd love to share ideas with anyone else who has sleep apnea!😡💤💤💤💤💤

Never underestimate the power of kindness.
Honored Contributor