Honored Contributor

Re: Sciatica for 2 weeks, finally today I am out of pain

@violann

As I said in my other post, I have had lots of experience with my lumbar area. From my many miles of running training and racing, I also had my bouts with ITBS. Most of that experience with ITBS, was years before anything was known about.

I found, on my own, specific stretching exercises that worked very well for me to keep that problem under control. And also through keeping a very specific running diary, I also found what NOT TO DO to help prevent issues with the iliotibial band.

I never had or found any connection between my ITBS and lumbar problems. My late friend was a Chiropractor and I can tell me how many times he called me about my stretches for the iliotibial band. He had many patients with ITBS, which was a direct connection to the Tensor Facia Lata. These exercises worked for a majority of his patients, and also for my running friends.

Different things work for different people for sure when it comes to spinal issues. I however found that the majority of those that had ITBS responded well to the stretches I discovered years before I ever heard the words ITBS.

I too know all to well the limitations that serious spinal issues put on a person's ability to even function, in everyday normal functions. I remember rolling out of bed/onto my knees to get to the bathroom. And my, now wife, having to help me get my socks on my feet.

ITBS to me was more a nuisance than a debilitating pain. It did effect my running and that is why I kept improvising my own ways of stretching to find the solution for that specific problem.

I hope things keep going well for you.

hckynut(john)

hckynut(john)
Esteemed Contributor