Honored Contributor

How to get DH to get his hearing checked?

He spent his life working outside with heavy equipment.  They supposedly always wore ear plugs.  Now he can't even hear the seat belt buzzer, and the TV has to be jarringly loud.  Missed words?  Its almost comical except that I am running out of patience.  I know he lost his hearing working to support me, so I don't push this.  Any suggestions?

Respected Contributor

Re: How to get DH to get his hearing checked?

I don't know if I can offer any suggestions, but I am 56 and suffered sudden onset hearing loss in one ear and it drove me crazy.  I was so off balance because I could hear out of one ear pretty well, but not the other and sitting in meetings was so frustrating because I missed half or more of the conversation.

I did start wearing a hearing aid last year and it has made a big difference.  It is so small that no one knows I even wear it unless i say something about it.

I'm a safety manager for a company and I would jump on that bandwagon that the heavy equipment probably contributed to his hearing loss (but in my case--it was a nerve issue).  Hearing aids are so much better today--I can control mine from my phone and it also bluetooths with my phone (Iphone) so I hear conversations in my ear rather than have to hold the phone up to my ear.

I would push it if I were you, it should be part of an annual check up.

Respected Contributor

Explain to him about the new evidence that hearing loss is related to dementia.   They aren't sure what the connection is yet, but they think that not hearing things causes the cognitive part of the brain to deteriorate due to lack of input.  I know if it were me, that would be enough for me to get a hearing aid!

Laura loves cats!
Esteemed Contributor

My SO got his hearing checked, got hearing aids....

refuses to wear them....no help!

$3,500 down the drain.  gluuug!

Respected Contributor