Esteemed Contributor

Does anyone have a spin bike at home?

I saw an ad for Peloton fitness bikes and checked their website.  It looked great, but I have no experience with this type of exercise equipment.

Currently, I belong to a gym that offers spin classs in the morning and evening (I do the morning), but they have cut back their classes and, honestly, I'm tired of having the same instructors all the time.  The advantage is the place is 10 minutes from my house and is a full service gym.

However, I would be interested to know if anyone has a spin bike at home and uses it.  I can always go out biking on a nearby trail, or use my Pilates board, but anyone who spins will understand it isn't the same.

I'd appreciate hearing from anyone who might own one of these bikes.

Thanks.

Respected Contributor

Re: Does anyone have a spin bike at home?

[ Edited ]

I had a spin bike at home, I gave it to my granddaughters recently.  The one I bought, can't remember the brand but it was highly rated, was supposed to be up to the same standards as the one at the gym.

From the cycling perspective, it was.  It was great.  From the fit perspective, it fell very short - or more accurately, it fell too tall!  I'm 5'2.  I could not get the proper adjustments for height plus distance from the handle bars to come anywhere close to what I needed and what I was used to at the gym.

I would strongly suggest you check out ******'s sporting goods or another B&M that sells fitness equipment and actually try them out.  That's the only way you'll be able to find out if you can get it adjusted the way you need it to be.

ETA - what was edited out by the software was the nickname for Richard....grrrr

Valued Contributor

I spin at Peleton in Chelsea and it's a great bike and studio. It's worth it if you use it, I enjoy the different instructors and they really pay attention to the people spinning at home. They call out their names and mention who is doing well.