WEN

Contributor

Help!! First time user of Tea Tree Oil ever- and at Night!

[ Edited ]

Even though I'm trying out new shampoos, I have the most recent Wen TSV in Tea Tree.  I never loved the scent but can handle it to wash my hair This is my first attempt using the oil. OMG.  I feel like a bumbling fool not understanding how to apply it.  Am I supposed to rub into my scalp and then rub the oil through my hair from top to bottom and put it in a pony tail overnight?  More important, after many, many years of marriage I don't think I've ever gotten into bed smelling anything close to this. (and not in a good way.)  I'm sure it's been mentioned on the boards before but I haven't seen comments on this issue. I hope the oil is worth it!!! Thoughts please.  Woman Wink

Respected Contributor

Re: Help!! First time user of Tea Tree Oil ever- and at Night!

Another brave soul toughing out an overnight oil treatment first time out!   You can see toutorial videos on You tube.  They reccomend using four droppers full total doing a few passes from forehead to the back of your head with each dropper so you do passes over your whole head.  MASSAGE the oil in,  do not scrub it into your scalp.  It's a treatment not a penance, although with Tea Tree it may seem like it!  You sure can smooth the excess oil down the length of your hair but the oil is primarily a scalp treatment.  If you have any other of the treatment oils I'd put those on the length of your hair to help cut the scent of TT.  I also would WRAP all your hair in a towel overnight to cut down on the scent.  At the very least put your oil in as early as you can so the strong scent can dissipate a little bit before you go to bed.  In the long run if you are not used to the oils I would do your first treatment in the daytime.  the oils can affect your sleep patterns until you are used to them.  The more you use the oils the more your scalp will respond.  

Honored Contributor