Honored Contributor

I need some help/advice with deep frying

[ Edited ]

I am very new to deep frying and have a few questions if you folks have a moment.

I have just tried frying fish and it came out rather well but my questions are:

1. After you pull the fish out of the oil, do you place it on a rack or on paper (I used brown paper bags not entirely successful in my opinion)?
  2. Do you strain and save your oil or use fresh every time?
  3. What type of oil do you recommend for frying?
  4. How on earth do you get the smell of fish fry out of your house???

I am going to attempt chicken next but wanted to hear what you ladies have to say about these questions (and then after I attempt chicken that will be volume two).  Smiley Happy

Any assistance you can lend will be most gratefully appreciated.

Thank you in advance!

Respected Contributor

Re: I need some help/advice with deep frying . . . things

Congratulations, Mtc, on your success!  Here are my answers to your questions:

1.  I drain onto paper towels, although your brown paper bags are good, too.  

2.  Saving the oil  depends on what you last fried in it.  Flavors are retained in the oil, and, of course, "debris" falls to the bottom.  So, French fries?  Sure.  Fish?  Not so much.

3.  I use solid Crisco vegetable shortening.  It will re-solidify after use and prevents spillage.

4.  The fish odor can be tough.  A bowlful of vinegar left out on the counter overnight helps.  I've heard coffee grounds work,  too.  

Good luck!      --Mrs. G. 

Strive for respect instead of attention. It lasts longer.
Respected Contributor

Re: I need some help/advice with deep frying

I'm experiencing Gremlins this morning.  I answered this before, but my post neither posted nor was autosaved.  Let's try again:

1.  I use paper towels to drain onto, but your paper bag would work well, too.  Some may tell you it's unsanitary, but I wouldn't adhere to that.