Trusted Contributor

How did they get my CELL PHONE Number

This might seem like a silly question.  I am not a computer expert.  I pay my verizon home phone bill online via my credit union.  I have never paid my bill on the verizon website.  I have paid my bill on my phone via an app.  

I noticed in the last few weeks that when I pay my verizon bill onine, a few hours later I get a TEXT saying thiank you for your payment.

I have never provided my cell phone cause to any businesses or entered it in my profile with the business.

HOW DID THEY GET MY CELL PHONE.

The same thing just happened this week on my suntrust account. I went to log on and it asked because I as not logging on my normal laptop that they could send a text to my cellphone.  I have NEVER provided my cell phone on any sunstrust profile.  

I don't understand how this works?  Please educate me on this topic.

Happiness is ALWAYS an inside job,
Don't assign anyone else that much POWER
in your life!!!
Respected Contributor

Re: How did they get my CELL PHONE Number

imagine Verizon cross indexes your information on your different Verizon lines, home and cell.  

Respected Contributor

Big brother is watching.

Esteemed Contributor

If both accounts are through Verizon then Verizon has your information including your phone numbers.  Also, you enter your phone number when you pay online.

As to the bank, many companies are now asking if you would like to provide or is there a cellphone number to receive text messages.  Many people conduct business via their smartphones.

@Happiness Is Inside JOB 

Respected Contributor

I still have a little flip phone that I never give anyone the # to, except a few friends and I get all kinds of stuff on there. Since I'm not a techie either,  whenever I check it, it  takes me several minutes to delete the stuff as I never use  the phone and don't remember how to do it from one time to the next.

Trusted Contributor